In 1926, Sprague Specialties Company was run by Ensign Robert C. Sprague, his wife, Mrs. Florence Sprague, and Mary E. Avery – Molly, to her friends. Sprague Specialties – later to be called Sprague Electric – grew rapidly from a family business to a…

Native Americans were the first to travel along the Mohawk Trail, through the Northern Berkshires and between the Hudson and Connecticut rivers. Today, a scenic drive east from North Adams past the “Hairpin Turn” leads to a unique spot known as the…

On the streets of North Adams and Adams, you may look up to the summit of Mt. Greylock and wonder why there is a lighthouse on the top. You are not alone. Residents of the surrounding towns asked that same question in the 1930s when what is actually…

Meadowbrook was an outdoor ballroom and boxing arena built in 1922 by William Craven and William Kelly of North Adams, and Wilfred Guerin of Adams. During their ownership of Meadowbrook, they hosted both musical performances and boxing matches.…

In the fall of 1927, heavy amounts of rainfall created massive flooding in the Hoosic River, and the rushing water completely obliterated a piece of North Adams history. This piece of history was the Fairgrounds, the site for a variety of events that…

Nestled between the north and south branches of the Hoosic River, the Marshall Street complex that now houses MassMoCA has played a major role in the history of North Adams. As the country entered the tumultuous years of the U.S. Civil War, the…

In July 1975, North Adams State College (NASC), now MCLA, approved a nearly $15,000 (equivalent to nearly $70,000 today) grant for the establishment of the Center for Resourceful Living (CRL), a program with a ‘back-to-the-land’ ideology and…

Giles Tinker was born in 1781 in Lyme, Connecticut, and moved to North Adams in 1802. He was a talented machinist and mechanic who began manufacturing wool carding machines for the mills in town. His was the first machine shop of its kind in the…

Located at the intersection of Eagle and Union Streets, for over 125 years, St. Francis served Catholic parishioners in North Adams and was the oldest Catholic church building in town before being torn down in 2017. It was Catholic immigrants who…

The Flatiron Building, 38-44 Eagle Street, also called the Hayden Block, was originally built as a singular floor unit in 1830. Later on, the building was given two additional floors in 1866; thus making it a three story structure, which was…